Saturday, August 16, 2008

Book Review: the Geronimo Stilton chapter book series, by Geronimo Stilton

Pictured here is Lost Treasure of the Emerald Eye, Book #1 of the Geronimo Stilton chapter books - the international best-selling children's book series published by Edizioni Piemme of Milan, Italy, since 2000. Scholastic has published the English version of this series since February 2004. So far, readers have been delighted by 35 titles, with the latest scheduled for release in 2009. The series is aimed at the 9-12 year-old set, and has been translated into 35 languages.

"Author" Geronimo Stilton talks directly to the reader, chronicling his adventures in each book, as well as being sure to point out that adventure is precisely not his cup of tea. Still, he gets dragged into one fantastic romp after another. Usually, these (in his view) disastrous encounters involve his sister Thea, cousin Trapp, and nephew Benjamin, but other family members and friends and enemies also make appearances from time to time.

One can expect several constants in each book, despite the variety of predicaments Geronimo finds himself in. The text is sprinkled with words of varying fonts, sizes and colors. Funny puns, similes and metaphors abound. Sentences are short and to the point, yet full of action and description that move the story along at a rapid pace. Each book includes fun informative articles here and there - written by Geronimo, of course, and illustrated, to boot - that provide the reader with relevant background on the places he goes and the things he writes about. The cartoon illustrations are bright, colorful, funny, and complement the text perfectly. 

To help in sorting out all the characters and places Geronimo writes about, readers will find, right at the beginning of each book, a labeled drawing of each mouse at The Rodent's Gazette. At the end of each book, Geronimo includes an author biography, as well as labeled maps of The Rodent's Gazette Building, New Mouse City, and Mouse Island.

For Teachers and Librarians: Though the Geronimo Stilton series is aimed at ages 9-12, your smaller guys and gals will delight at hearing Geronimo's antics read aloud, and will enjoy looking at the pictures, reading the maps, and even following along with the text to discover the fancy fonts. You can do so much with this series for those younger readers, and the target ages, and even kids who are a little bit older, and there are 35 different adventures to choose from. Map reading skills come into play, research skills, geography, history, sports, manufacturing, story elements, food, wild west towns, islands, travel, paleontology...even stolen identities! You really can't go wrong. Grab a Geronimo Stilton book (or two, or thirty-five) and get it into your classroom. Your students will thank you, and you will have a wealth of material to choose from. And besides all the educational possibilites, these books are a riot for the kids!

For Parents, Grandparents and Caregivers:
If your little guys (and even your bigger guys) have a funny bone, this is a series you have to get into your home. Geronimo Stilton is a mouse, and he writes all about his adventures, making sure his reader knows he would much rather have a quiet cup of tea in his comfy chair at home. Your kids will laugh out loud at the antics of Geronimo and his family as they wrangle their way out of countless impossible and action-packed predicaments. Great to read aloud, and fun to read on their own, this series of books is one the kiddos will not want to stop reading.

For the Kids:
Did you know there's a mouse out there that runs a newspaper, and writes books? Well, there is, and his name is Geronimo Stilton: a 'fraidy mouse who somehow ends up in all kinds of wild places and funny spots, all thanks to his loud but loving family. There are 35 books, and each one has a different adventure to read about, like the one where Geronimo gets stuck fighting a bull in the wild, wild west. Then there's book where he ends up shipwrecked on pirate islands. Oh, and of course there's the one where he ends up in the middle of the Gobi Desert in Mongolia, and they discover dinosaur bones. But don't take my word for it - ask your parents to take you to the library or your bookstore, get one (or two, or more) Geronimo Stilton books, and get reading (or ask someone to read it to you). You'll be so glad you did!

Fun, fast, and packed with adventure, the Geronimo Stilton books are a must read, sure to become children's classics someday.

Title of Book One: Lost Treasure of the Emerald Eye
Author: Geronimo Stilton
Illustrators: Matt Wolf, Mark Nithael, and Kat Stevens
Pages: 128
Reading Level: Ages 9-12
Publisher and Date: Scholastic, Inc., February 2004
Edition: Mass Market Paperback
Language: English
Published In: United States
Price: $6.99
ISBN-10: 0439559634
ISBN-13: 978-0439559638


  1. Geronimo Stilton is Amanda's favorite series. She can't read anything else because she has read all of them. I asked about all of the other books that haven't been! Geronimo Stilton is the only book/series for her.


  2. How many has she got i would be fasinated to kow how many he has out in Italy!!!



  3. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

  4. Hello Anonymous. You've done your homework, as did I. But, not all truths are meant to be divulged - at least not until the proper time. Let our young readers have their fantasy and fun, for as long as they can.


So, what's on your mind?